A SONG FOR HER

Posted on August 14, 2012

0


For you, on your birthday

 

A dozen pens

And a thousand pages

Words still elude

Refusing to allow the rendition

Properly of my disarray composition

In a sense perfect enough

To paint a befitting picture…

 

It is as if the envious gods

Are conspiring against this venture

Or maybe Aphrodite herself

Wouldn’t allow another to be so dotted

Perhaps their apostle, Donne

Is bent on singing for you too

From the happy folio of Master Shakespeare.

 

Whatever it is

Stubbornly I forge ahead

Like a love struck stubborn stud,

Which in a way I am,

No way am I going to leave your tribute

To those their loyalty remains an unknown factor

So I must forge on.

 

I must write my love a song

Nightingale’s voice cannot do justice to

Fela’s drummers can’t render adequate support

Not for the inadequacy of effort

But for the lack of proportionate wit.

 

And where shall I perform

This never heard before wonder?

The Globe Theater is not grand enough

Its splendor Staple center would demean

And its status scared by the lowly Maracana.

 

 

 

 

The stars and moon be damned

If they as slightly dare to complain

How can they expect this masterpiece

To be created for them?

So, I ask them:

 

Can they rival your purity of soul? No.

Or your brightness of light? No.

Or your sparkling of radiance? No.

Or your precision of grace? No

Can they not see the glowing Sun

pay homage to your uniqueness?

 

That Lorikeet who dared question

My choice of recipient

Has been warned never to repeat such nonsense

As the Zebra who doubted the superiority

Of your exquisite exterior magnificence;

Could he not see yours is of finer make?

 

I swear, I will turn Atlantic to ink

And exhaust the Amazon trees for paper

I will invite insomnia and do an Hazare

Until the perfect words roll on sheets

I will not relent a bit, the world be deuced.

 

Today is your day, my love

And I must sing for you tonight

Directly I will render the magnum opus

From my heart to yours without medium

This universe has never witnessed

Two systems in greater sync.

 

Penned: 2:00am August 5, 2012         Presented: August 7, 2012

Tagged: , , ,
Posted in: Uncategorized