Random Run V

Posted on July 10, 2012

1


This is not a poem

I repeat this is no poem

 

The guy who destroyed Ilu Gangan

Shall not partake in the devouring

Of the roasted Suya at the next Ileya

And may his leg know no dance

When the Bata drum is possessed by Sango.

Ase ooooo

 

This is not a poem

I repeat this is no poem 

 

The guy who despoiled Oba River with his feces

Shall not partake in meeting Jesus

On his return from the visit to his Master

And he will be chased away from the coronation

Of his own son as the king of the crazies!

Ase ooooo

 

 

This is not a poem

I repeat this is no poem

 

The guy who challenged the veracity of Ifa’s claim

To ten goats and twenty yards of white cloth

While reserving ten times of that for himself

Will forgetfully go to market in his tattered towel

And that too shall be swept away by the good wind

And may the market day be a Saturday

When children will be around to witness the spectacle.

Ase oooo

 

This is not a poem

I repeat this is no poem 

 

The guy who cut down our ancestral Iroko tree

To pave way for his useless canopies and other artificialities

Shall be asleep when those nonsense collapse on him

And may he wake up just in time to enjoy the pain

Of the beam hitting his mouth and displacing his teeth

And may the local doctors unanimously reject him.

Ase oooo

 

 

This is not a poem

I repeat this is no poem

 

The guy who slaughtered the communal antelope

Just to shear its beautiful skin for his foot mat

Shall attempt to cross the express without looking

And his destructive limbs shall be irreparably crushed

May the gods do him a favour and of his sight relieve him

So he wouldn’t have the sense to depreciate splendour again.

Ase ooo

(TBC)

July 5-8, 2012.

 

P.S: (Un)fortunately, I couldn’t resist the temptation to continue this series.

 

You might want to check out Random Run I-IV on naijastories.com, just google it. And/or check out Aturmercy’s critique of Random I-III also published on naijastories.com and reproduced on my Facebook’s ‘note’. And folks, I’ve got a blog now! Praise the lord! https://layrite.wordpress.com/. Follow me, please.

